i’m posting about 13 reasons why while it’s still relevant (+ 2004’s speak & nbc’s powerless)

To be clear, I know shows like Thirteen Reasons Why would be relevant as long as there are humans on this earth. If somehow that doesn’t happen in the future, then that means we’ve achieved a perfect utopia where there is no good nor evil. Just commonwealth and order and all that nice, perfect stuff.My original intent was to write about my favorite show of ALL TIME, Powerless. NBC has so kindly decided to take it off the air for an indefinite amount of time…with only three episodes left. THREE EPISODES LEFT. TRES. just three weeks more. People are already salty about how NBC cancels shows prematurely and it’s not any different for fans of DC Comics’ first-ever comedy. AND THEN THEY DO THIS SHIT. I have to remember to breathe…and relax. I’ll make a separate post about it because stuff like this upset me.

I also found out about this maybe 15 minutes before 8:30 (which is its usual timeslot during Thursdays). And my heart is just so devastated. I have to stop now and actually put my sentiments on that other post; which will have a more specific and….”realistic” (???) tone to it. Now on to the actual subject of this post!

So let’s talk about Thirteen Reasons Why.

It’s a show that is receiving a lot of hype. I personally haven’t watched it yet…and for the time being, I don’t intend to–mostly because I have already read the book and know that the story is really heartbreaking and heavy and I just can’t see myself watching it right now.  I do remember that I did like the book and for a while, it was one of my favorite YA books of 2012-2013 (It was originally published in 2007.) Back when I read it I just borrowed a copy from my classmate and I could not put it down. It was really intriguing and it was a book that was so cleverly executed and it was maybe more intense as other books like it that came out at that time.

The story definitely stood out for me and I like stories where you have to read every single page and absorb the events and viewpoints of the characters as these events occur to make sense of the ending. The main takeaway I have for Thirteen Reasons Why was that it would be one of the books I would definitely go back to. Something that I’ll do once I have enough funds to start buying an e-book version. I just don’t have enough to start buying books that cost me over $3 (which is something that I’m sticking to for the time being).

As for the show on Netflix, I’ll add it on my To-Watch List since it is about mental health. I love books that advocate for it and books that keep the ball rolling in terms of discussing sensitive topics with a lot of misconceptions such as mental health. I like the cast, I’m only familiar with the leading man but I haven’t seen the girl who plays Hannah Baker. She does look mysterious as you think a character like Hannah would look like. It’s definitely her eyes. And I guess, (more importantly) her voice since the premise of the show does revolve around 13 cassette tapes.

What’s even more interesting about Thirteen Reasons Why is (from what I remember) how you’re tuned into both of the lead characters’ point-of-view and narration. It adds a different level of depth to it that strikes the audience as they go along with the story because of how much Hannah reveals and how much Clay investigates on his own. Evidently, for a show to work, the producers and writers need to change a few things.

I know many people are also raving about the visual aspects and how dark the entire thing is for a teen book/show. They’re saying it’s too negative and can impact so many kids. The thing is, taboo topics like these are very real. And relevant issues need to be voiced and be acted upon. Though we live in an overly-saturated world where so many people today complain about everything and anything under the sun, tragic topics like this should be given a chance to be properly presented and appropriately shared.

I have my own reservations about it even though I’m (sorta?) part of the demographic TRW targets. So many parents are on the fence about explicitly exposing their children stories about suicide, bullying, and depression, since many think this will become a, means to sensationalize and tempt the young, impressionable people of today into doing things they shouldn’t do (if they aren’t already). Knowing that makes me feel like I shouldn’t spread even more awareness about the right topics in a (slightly) askew way…like maybe supporting shows like Shadowhunters, Riverdale and 13RW is somehow giving others more opportunities to be misinformed or triggered. Being responsible for others’ perception of media and its contents isn’t my concern (as it shouldn’t be) but personally, it makes me more cautious about what I choose to consume and promote publicly as a precautionary courtesy. It’s probably just a thing that I do but in my opinion, it’s being a little wiser with what I read/watch/listen to. I’m not saying I’m a squeaky clean person and I do prefer cop dramas and shows with a bit of edge to nonsensical variety shows. But I do know what I won ‘t be picking up and adding to my library anytime soon.

Being responsible for others’ perception of media and its contents isn’t my concern (as it shouldn’t be) but personally, it makes me more cautious about what I choose to consume and promote publicly as a precautionary courtesy.

It’s probably just a thing that I do but in my opinion, it’s being a little wiser with what I read/watch/listen to. I’m not saying I’m a squeaky clean person and I do prefer cop dramas and shows with a bit of edge to nonsensical variety shows. But I do know what I won ‘t be picking up and adding to my library anytime soon. (I’m looking at youFifty Shades of Grey).

I do have a few things that kinda makes me lowkey excited about this series. Many adaptations tend to stray away from the source material.  (As I’ve mentioned above.) It’s good that Selena Gomez made sure it would turn out as close to the book as they could possibly get it…according to the internet. I still haven’t watched it, just in case anyone forgot. It’s definitely for mature audiences…but maturity is not always conventionally the same for everybody. It’s a deep dive into someone else’s spiraling mind and it sure does give you some association with the story and the characters. I don’t know if that’s a bad thing or a good thing…it seems like it’s a case-to-case basis. But it sure does look like the odds are in the show’s favor since rumors of a Season 2 has been flying around. I’ll try to watch it before then.

 


 

I didn’t expect to make another post until next week but life always has other plans for us.

If you’re not ready to take a dip into tales about teenagers killing themselves and leaving morbid and complicated suicide notes, then I have a suggestion that’s somewhat related to TRW.

I highly recommend Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson. It’s just as harrowing as TRW (if not better). It’s also sensitive and for 2004–I could say it was very taboo and this was a book that felt like it needed to be written about. The story itself is really heart-wrenching and it’ll make you sob so many tears (SO, SO MANY TEARS) and feel so very, very angry at the world.  The writing is very well-constructed and it won awards as well. This book also has an adaptation, a movie that stars Kristen Stewart as Melinda Sordino.

This is where I confess that I am a KStew fan. I’ve been one for the longest time. Like everybody else, I discovered her through Panic Room and then saw her again in Speak and The Cake Eaters (which I don’t think I was allowed to finish) I also loved her in Zathura. It was funny because I didn’t really notice it was her because my attention was solely focused on Josh Hutcherson; whom I’ve had a crush on since I saw him play Gabe (???) in that movie with that girl playing Rosemary Telesco. There was also that movie where she was blonde that I would just watch because she was blonde in that movie. It was also a slightly heated movie but I was a little older by then; I just don’t remember when that was exactly. I thought Kristen’s paranormal thriller film The Messengers was going to have a sequel but I never heard of it again.

I’m literally off-topic now and I’ve been rambling on and on. There’s more to come since I still have to angrily write make my protest to NBC for setting my favorite comedy up for failure. On a side note: I didn’t use a fudge ton of strikethroughs for this post. That feels kinda great.

I’m off to go cry salty baby tears now. Until then.

-Greta

 


EDIT: (4/28/2017) Never post things at 2 AM. You’ll be groggy as hell. Oh, and remember to ALWAYS PROOFREAD PEOPLE! I don’t even know how I wrote almost 1700 words in one sitting. That only happens when I write short fics!!!

What they’re all saying must be true then–blogging has a tendency to make changes in your habits. For the first time in MONTHS, I can say that I’ve never been more productive and inspired as a writer.

Maybe all I needed was to talk about possibly triggering Netflix shows and KStew. I think I learned a little more about myself. Huh.

Published by

kgtriessohard

Hello, internet dwellers! I am an aspiring, antisocial writer who spends most of her time making up stories in her head and eating cornflakes. I am a person of many interests. Hopefully, through my blogs and other connected social networking accounts, I could make something out of those interests and ultimately, myself. I follow many kinds of blogs, even some that aren't necessarily within my zone of knowledge. My mains reason for starting a blog is that I wanted a space to have not only an outlet, but also a way for me to gradually construct my writing portfolio.

One thought on “i’m posting about 13 reasons why while it’s still relevant (+ 2004’s speak & nbc’s powerless)”

Leave a Reply

