reading through it all (what i’ve been up to)

Here’s my very first series..thing! Yay me!

So I haven’t been writing for a while (which is a bad idea I think I must avoid), because I have been doing a lot more reading than writing for the better half of the past couple of weeks  month. It’s not a totally bad thing to do,  and some say that it can be helpful in your journal-ing.

I picked up a book recently, and I haven’t started reading it yet because I easily get distracted into a story once it’s in my hands. When it comes to titles that particularly interest me, I just flat-out get absorbed into it. That’s the kind of reader I am. I tend to block everything out and nothing else matters but the book in my hands, and the world within it. It just happens to me and I know for sure that this I’m not alone in this odd bookworm habit. When you love to read, books can easily draw you  in.

And that’s exactly* what happened (*sort of) to the main protagonist in our book. If you haven’t guessed it yet, the book is a Disney tie-in for the Beauty and The Beast live-action film (which I still haven’t seen because going to cinemas isn’t really a thing in my family). It’s Lost In A Book by Jennifer Donnelly. It’s a very pretty book and the jacket design is amazing! It just screams magic and I can’t wait to sink my teeth into it!

 

lost-in-a-book-beauty-beast-jennifer-donnelly

This month I started being active on Wattpad and Asianfanfics again and re-joined Goodreads. Over on Wattpad, I finally finished reading Through His Eyes by felicitate! I can’t believe it took me so freakin’ long to scour my library for it but I finally finished it! I was very entertained and I just love Caleb and Rhea’s chemistry! It’s structured just like a traditional YA premise with a bit of a twist. Basically, it’s this:

For generations, the women in Rhea’s family on her mother’s side have this ability to receive ‘snippets’ of another person’s life through their eyes. It usually occurs one week before these two people meet, in which case they either find out/confirm that they’re soul mates. 

(That terribly written summary was made by your truly.)

34398647-368-k352637

 

I don’t want to spoil it that much but there were some story lines that felt very lacking for me because there were instances in the book that made me want to flip tables because of how odd it felt in some parts because of (some) abrupt drama. Overall, it isn’t a waste or a heavy task to read and is fairly enjoyable. There are tons of cute scenes and you’ll definitely finish it with 26 chapters all in all.

I’ve also been overcompensating on losing my first book giveaway by joining every book giveaway I could find. I am a lover of free things, hand-me-downs, and unnecessary frugality. But this is a new thing for me, because I don’t enter giveaways or raffles especially if it’s on the internet. I don’t think I’m going to stop anytime soon since I haven’t won anything yet. I can definitely see myself getting an addiction to this. The “gambling” element (because this is what this feels like, gambling) is a little bit thrilling if I’m being totally honest with myself.

So I’ve also found myself just trying out all the free themes on WordPress this week. I think it’s a good thing to kind of just do before I try to make a Premium purchase or a custom one outside of WordPress. I just want to exhaust all my options before shelling out some dough. That is mostly because I am afraid of commitment and as mentioned above, a cheap skate.)

Another thing I’ve also done is that I just spent a lot of time watching booktubers and searching for book reviewer blogs I liked and started stalking visiting their online outlets and just reading their stuff. I might do a round-up or something like that but since I’m gonna be sorta busy for the next two weeks (which comes off as an actual surprise to me) I might do other stuff instead. I’ll be having my first ever trip out of the state and it’s gonna be awesome (I think). More or less.

To make sure I’ll be enjoying the trip of my life, spending time with people I barely know and have an uncomfortably awkward and complicated relationship with…I shall be taking my copy of Chloe Aridjis‘ 2013 debut novel about museums and museum guards (???) that I bought from my first trip to a dollar store (which would’ve been great vlog material; if only I wasn’t so camera-shy).

51stw4rneil-_sx336_bo1204203200_

(The image above was taken from Amazon because as always, I’m too stubborn to create my own images. )

With all that being said, I think at this point I HAVE to cook up a real, productive blog plan and not just loose goals in order for me to achieve something with this space in terms of productivity.

Just kidding, I know I’m too lazy to give a flying damn. (I can’t wait to improve my writing! I use strikethrough a lot)

That’s all for now I guess,

Greta xx

 

Published by

kgtriessohard

Hello, internet dwellers! I am an aspiring, antisocial writer who spends most of her time making up stories in her head and eating cornflakes. I am a person of many interests. Hopefully, through my blogs and other connected social networking accounts, I could make something out of those interests and ultimately, myself. I follow many kinds of blogs, even some that aren't necessarily within my zone of knowledge. My mains reason for starting a blog is that I wanted a space to have not only an outlet, but also a way for me to gradually construct my writing portfolio.

Leave a Reply

